We’re excited to announce Levity, our contemporary dining chair and series of tables, is entered for a Design Guild Mark, awarded by the Furniture Makers’ Company. A Design Guild Mark is one of the more notable ways a furniture designer/maker can be acknowledge for the quality of their work.

The prestigious Design Guild Mark is awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, the furnishing industry’s charity, in order to drive excellence and raise the profile of British design and innovation.

The Mark has traditionally recognised the highest standards in the design of furniture for volume production, by the finest designers working in Britain, or British designers working abroad. The judges are renowned experts in their respective fields and bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the process.

Gaze Burvill has been honoured with two Design Guild Marks previously for their Oak sunlounger the Lizard Lounger. In addition, Gaze Burvill designer Charles Dedman won a Design Guild Mark in 2017 for his Turner Carver.

Levity is designed by Katie Walker in response to a brief written by Simon Burvill to meeting the growing trend for furniture which suits transitional spaces between house and garden. Levity is perfectly suited to Terraces, Balconies and Veranda’s or intimate gardens.


“This is an award which we’ve been so proud of achieving in the past and my fingers are crossed we’ll get through to the next stage with Katie’s fabulous design. She’s captured the essence of the company in a number of elements which are not only functional but have a touch of joy and life to them.”


The judging panel for 2018™ Design Guild Mark comprises of Simon Alderson – twentytwentyone, Joanna Biggs – GA Design, Barbara Chandler – Evening Standard, Diana Monkhouse – SpaceInvader Design Ltd, Jeremy Myerson – Helen Hamlyn Professor of Design Royal College of Art, Thomas Pearce – Sebastian Conran Associates, Philippa Prinsloo – John Lewis, Pernille Stafford – Resonate Interiors, Jason Wilary-Attew – The Conran Shop and Terence Woodgate – Terence Woodgate Design and the award is sponsored by John Lewis.